Genes, Brain & Behavior Meeting 2018  

Mayo Clinic Civic Center, Rochester, MN USA

For Sponsors:

Sponsorship options

Exhibitor registration



 Site of the 2018 IBANGS meeting.


IBANGS 2018 Meeting:

The 20th Annual Genes, Brain & Behavior Meeting will be held in Rochester, Minnesota, May 17-21, 2018. The meeting will be held at the Mayo Clinic Civic Center, including exciting scientific lectures, research presentations and opportunities to share your work with your fellow scientists and mentors.  More information will be posted regularly in the coming weeks/months, so please return to this webpage for more information.Discounted lodging room rates will be available at hotel(s) near the meeting site. For the discounted rates, please check back here for more information at a later date.


Presidential plenary speaker for the IBANGS 2018 meeting:

Dr. Mark P Mattson

 Mark Mattson photo

Mark P. Mattson is Chief of the Laboratory of Neurosciences at the National Institute on Aging Intramural Research Program National Institute on Aging. He is also Professor of Neuroscience at Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Mattson has received numerous awards and is considered a leader in the area of cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying neuronal plasticity and neurodegenerative disorders, and has made major contributions to understanding of the pathogenesis of Alzheimer's disease, and to its prevention and treatment.


Individualized Medicine Workshop Organizers



Conference Dates:  May 17-21, 2018

Preliminary Schedule:  

May 17 - Breakout workshop sponsored by Mayo Clinic Center for Individualized Medicine
               Organizers: Dr. Lisa Schimmenti and Dr. Eric Klee 

             - Evening Reception
May 18 - main meeting (full day) Evening Poster Session
May 19 - main meeting (full day) Evening Poster Session
May 20 - main meeting (full day) 
May 21 - main meeting (full day) Evening Banquet: Four Daughters Vineyard and Winery
May 22 - departures


Important Dates:

December 2017 - Symposium proposals due
December 2018 - Registration/abstract submission open
February 2018 - Abstract submissions due
February 2018 - Travel award applications due
March 2018 - Regular registration closed
April 2018 - Late breaking abstracts due
April 2018 - Late registration rates apply
April 2018 - Last day for registration refunds
May 2018 - Conference dates May 17-21


Meeting Sponsors

 zeissBio-techne logoMillipore Sigma Icon


Travel Stipends:

Travel stipends will be available for graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and junior faculty members who have held faculty rank for
less than 5 years. Information on the travel award application process will be available on the Travel Awards webpage.

Symposia Proposals:

Call for Symposia Proposals IBANGS 2018

Symposia Proposal Form IBANGS 2018


Award Nominations:

Call for Award Nominations 2018


Travel to Rochester:

Located at 30 Civic Center Drive SE in Rochester, MN, the Mayo Civic Center lies along the Zumbro Riverbanks in the heart of downtown. Just minutes from hotels, shopping, restaurants and the renowned Mayo Clinic, the Center is easily accessible via major highways and offers a variety of convenient parking options. Money Magazine said it best, "One thing to remember about Rochester  is that it has the sophistication of a larger metro area, but not the congestion or the complications. Named "Best Small City" in America by a nationally recognized magazine, Rochester merges a cosmopolitan atmosphere with Midwestern hospitality giving convention attendees a most memorable experience.

Rochester Convention and Visitor's Bureau website:

Trip Advisors top attractions and activities in Minnesota: Minnesota attractions


To receive email updates about GBB 2018 complete the IBANGS Mailing List Request. 


Awards Committee
Yehuda Ben-Shahar (2016-2018)
Angela Ozburn (2016-2018)
Robert Williams (2016-2018)
Dai Stephens (2017-2019)
Lisa Tarantino (2017-2019)

Program Committee
Karl Clark (Chair)
Gang Chen
Judy Griesel
Iiris Hovatta
Alex Keene
Elissa Chesler
Fernando Rodriguez
Robert Williams

Local Organizing Committee
Karl Clark, Mayo Clinic 
Susannah Tye, Mayo Clinic
Doo-Sup Choi, Mayo Clinic
Stephen C. Ekker, Mayo Clinic
Stephanie Ferguson, Mayo Clinic
Marc Wolman, University of Wisconsin
Pamela McLean, Mayo Clinic- Jacksonville
Tracy Austin, Rochester Convention and Visitors Bureau